Skip to content

What I Love About Catering

April 19, 2012

Recently I was asked what I love most about catering.

The answer is easy: working with people.

.

I love developing a relationship with each individual, and really getting to know them as a person, because it helps me understand their vision and expectations. My favorite client is someone who comes to me with a great inspirational theme and wants to be a part of the whole process.

To me there’s nothing more exciting than working closely with that person to find creative, fun ways to address their unique challenges, fulfill their vision, and make their dreams come true.

Trust is an essential component of this relationship, and key to a successful event. By getting to know each other, working together, and building a strong personal relationship, we develop a bond of trust that ensures their special moment becomes a successful, one of a kind experience.

In addition to the people factor, there are other aspects of catering that I love…

As a Chef, I started Foodz Catering because I love the creativity that comes with crafting personalized menus tailored to someone’s special event. It’s a thrill to dream up inventive solutions that artfully blend taste, presentation, and budget. I have been honored to cook everything from Grandma’s favorite family recipe for a bride, to unique, living buffets for corporate clients.

Another aspect I enjoy is the challenge of being an off-premise caterer, where we are often tasked with serving great food under less than ideal situations. Being flexible, addressing unique challenges, and coming up with creative solutions to issues such as no on-site kitchen, no power or water, or no staging room—these are all in a day’s work for Foodz Catering.

I have prepared fine meals in closets, assembled delicate hors d’oeuvres in basements and garages, and fed thousands from pop up tents. My team is adept at bringing in everything from portable ovens, grills and Cambros, to specialized vendors, site-specific décor, and pipe-and-drape for queuing large crowds.

Lastly, I love “playing” with my food. To me a perfect catering experience is as much about an amazing presentation as it is about outstanding flavors.

When you combine all of these aspects, you have the definition of Foodz Catering: delicious food, personally developed, creatively crafted, artistically presented, and professionally served.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 10, 2013 1:49 pm

    Indeed amazing preparation is key!!

Leave a comment